Blue Origin’s NS-22 Mission

  • Mission: NS-22
  • Flight Date: August 4, 2022
  • Crew: Vanessa O’Brien, Coby Cotton, Mário Ferreira, Clint Kelly III, Sara Sabry, and Steve Young.
  • Rocket/vehicle: New Shepard
  • Apogee altitude reached:
    • The crew capsule reached an apogee of 347,585ft AGL / 351,585ft MSL (106 km AGL / 107 km MSL)
    • The booster reached an apogee of 347,219 ft AGL / 350,866 ft MSL (106 km AGL / 107 km MSL)
  • Flight duration: The mission elapsed time was 10 min 20 sec.
  • Max Ascent Velocity:  2,239 mph / 3,603 km/h.
  • Takeoff & landing points: Launch Site One, West Texas
  • Takeoff & landing times:
    • Official launch time was 8:56:07 AM CDT / 13:56:07 UTC.
    • Capsule landing occurred at 9:06:27 AM CDT / 14:06:27 UTC

Vanessa meets 11-year-old Katherine from West Sussex, who had just months earlier selected Vanessa as her favourite explorer to write about for a school project. After being selected on Blue Origin’s NS-22 spaceflight, Vanessa surprises Katherine by asking her what she would like Vanessa to take to Space for her.

Zero Gravity Space Training at Kennedy Space Center with Astronaut Wrangler Christina Korp and Apollo 16 Astronaut Charlie Duke on March 13, 2022. Special thanks to Zero G Corporation for video and photographs used in the making of this video and the Afterhours Mix In A Landscape by William Orbit from the Classic Chillout Album.